Math Project Redo’s

So, earlier I mentioned a math project that I failed to turn in on time and then Mrs. Pyne offered a redo, right? With my very, very busy schedule I couldn’t do the redo until today. Sunday, November 17th. It’s due tomorrow. As I looked at the potential comic strip and looked at my grade and measured my frustration in my head I realized that the C that I got isn’t impacting my grade very much and me getting all worked up about a stupid project redo isn’t worth it. It really isn’t. In 5 years it won’t matter that I missed one project and got a C. It won’t. And even if to the world it does, to me and to Jesus it doesn’t. Now I definitely won’t make a habit of turning things in late. But one C doesn’t matter in the long run. It doesn’t make sense to me. Penalization for late work. Aren’t grades supposed to be about showing what you’ve learned? Then, why is it that if you turn something in late you get marked down? Turning things in on time should be a totally different grade. Me turning in something on time doesn’t necessarily show if I understood what the teacher taught or not. This world never ceases to make me wonder, “Do people really think about life? What it means, what to do? Do they?” This is because it doesn’t seem like it. It seems like people are only worried about success, fairness and happiness. Fairness: A lot of people think that they’ll get into heaven because they’ve done so many good things in their life, which may or may not include turning in a math project on time. But that’s not how it works. Think about it this way; who are you closest to? Maybe your mom, your dad, a friend, a sibling or someone else. Imagine that they were killed. The authorities found the killer and evidence and the killer was taken to court. Then the killer pleaded to the judge, “Your honor, look at all of the good things I’ve done in my life.” Then hearing this, the judge said he was innocent and he was freed the next day. Is that fair? No it isn’t. (This example was adapted from the movie The Grace Card) In order to get into heaven it isn’t about how many good things you’ve done. A person could live their whole life doing bad things and in their final moments ask Jesus into their heart and go to heaven. Having Jesus in your heart is all that matters. And living for Jesus. And asking Him for forgiveness. This math project, in the long run, doesn’t matter. And that’s why I’m not doing the Integer Project Redo. 

Leave a Reply

